Art Department

 

Angela S. Heise
Art Teacher
Chairperson

B.A. in Art Education
M.A. in Secondary Education

aheise@jcsd.k12.ms.us
Class Page
 
Sarah Bartos
Theater
B.A. - University of Southern Mississippi
M.A. - William Carey University
sbartos@jcsd.k12.ms.us
 
Katlin Bell
Band Director
B.A. - University of Southern Mississippi

kbell@jcsd.k12.ms.us
John Dunlop
Assistant Band Director
jdunlop@jcsd.k12.ms.us
 
Kate Sawyer
Choir Director
B.A. - Loyola University
M.A. - Peabody conservatory of Johns Hopkins
ksawyer@jcsd.k12.ms.us
Bryan King
Art Teacher
B.F.A. - University of South Alabama
M.A. - University of William Carey
bking@jcsd.k12.ms.us
 
Anita Weems
Art Teacher
M.ed/Art Education - Wm. Carey
B.A.-MGCCC and WGU

aweems@jcsd.k12.ms.us

The St. Martin High School Fine Arts Department offers a wide variety of courses for students to explore. All of the Fine Art courses are broken down into specialized classes which allows for students to concentrate to one area or diversify their fine arts education. Every student must successfully complete 1 Carnegie unit of a Fine Art in order to graduate high school. All Advanced Studio classes are E-1 courses and Advanced Placement 2-D Design is an E-3 course. Many of the Fine Art teachers sponsor clubs after school and do many extra curricular activities with the students. The biggest venture that the department does together is the annual Art Gala. It is a fund raiser that helps supplement yearly classroom supplies and competition fees.

The following are the Fine Arts classes that are offered:

Visual Arts-
AP 2-D and 3-D Art, College Art Appreciation, Photography, Mixed Media and Illustration, Survey of Visual Arts, 2-D art, and 3-D art

Performing Arts-
Marching Band, Concert Band, Music Appreciation,
Dance, Symphonic Band, Theater, Instrumental Music and Choir 1 & 2, Piano

Teachers of the Month

The teachers chosen for this honor are done so by their peers for their hard work, dedication and going above and beyond for the students. Check out who is the Teacher of the Month.

Continue Reading »

To The Top